Azerbaijani volleyball teams learn rivals for World Championship qualification

Azerbaijani volleyball teams learn rivals for World Championship qualification
22:46 27 Oktyabr 2016
75 Digər
Ölkə mətbuatı
A- A+


Baku, October 27, AZERTAC

Azerbaijani women’s and men’s volleyball teams have learned their rivals as pools set for second stage of 2018 World Championship qualification in Luxembourg.

As many as 36 men’s and 36 women’s teams will be involved in the second stage of the European qualification process for the 2018 edition of the FIVB Volleyball World Championships. The Drawing of Lots for the much anticipated second qualifying round coming up in May and June next year was held on Wednesday at the CEV headquarters in Luxembourg, thus composing the six pools per gender – each one featuring six teams playing a single round robin whose eventual winners will move on straight to the global Volleyball showpiece taking place in 2018 in Italy / Bulgaria (Men) and Japan (Women).

The second stage of the European qualification for the 2018 FIVB Men’s Volleyball World Championship will be taking place from May 23 to 28, and the composition of the six pools reads as follows:

Pool A: France (org.), Germany, Turkey, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Iceland; Pool B: Netherlands (org.), Slovakia, Greece, Austria, Luxembourg, Republic of Moldova; Pool C: Slovenia (org.), Belgium, Portugal, Latvia, Israel, Georgia; Pool D: Estonia (org.), Russia, Montenegro, Romania, Hungary, Kosovo; Pool E: Croatia (org.), Serbia, Belarus, Denmark, Switzerland, Norway; Pool F: Czech Republic (org.), Finland, Spain, Sweden, Cyprus, Northern Ireland.

As for the women’s competition, the participating teams will take to the court from May 30 to June 4, 2017. The six second-round pools are composed as follows: Pool A: Croatia (org.), Russia, Hungary, Greece, Austria, Georgia; Pool B: Poland (org.), Serbia, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Cyprus, Iceland; Pool C: Bulgaria (org.), Turkey, Romania, Switzerland, Montenegro, Kosovo; Pool D: Belgium (org.), Italy, Belarus, Spain, Latvia, Bosnia and Herzegovina; Pool E: Azerbaijan (org.), Netherlands, Israel, Ukraine, Denmark, Norway; Pool F: Portugal (org.), Germany, France, Finland, Slovenia, Estonia.

The European qualification leading to the 2018 Worlds will come to an end in August next year with the third and last stage featuring the six runners-up from the second qualifying round. The men will be playing a single round robin tournament from August 15 to 20 with the eventual winner qualifying for the World Championship to complete the European contingent that already includes hosts Italy and Bulgaria as well as 2014 gold medallists Poland (pictured above). The women’s third round qualifier will take place from August 22 to 27 – with the eventual winners and runners-up booking a ticket to Japan together with the six second-round winners.

AZERTAG.AZ :Azerbaijani volleyball teams learn rivals for World Championship qualification